Skip to product information
1 of 8

PiggyBank Bargains

The Gulag Archipelago Series (Volumes 1-3) by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn

Regular price
$42.53 USD
Regular price
$50.99 USD
Sale price
$42.53 USD

These essential nonfiction novels include unabridged insights, interviews, histories, and more! Not a boxed set.

This set includes the following 3 books from the Gulag Archipelago series by Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn:

*The Gulag Archipelago Volume 1
*The Gulag Archipelago Volume 2
*The Gulag Archipelago Volume 3 

Volume 1 with ISBN 0061253715: The first book in the gripping epic masterpiece, Solzhenitsyn's chilling report of his arrest and interrogation, which exposed to the world the vast bureaucracy of secret police that haunted Soviet society. Features a new foreword by Anne Applebaum. 704 pages long.

Volume 2 with ISBN 0061253723: Volume 2 of the Nobel Prize-winner’s towering masterpiece: the story of Solzhenitsyn's entrance into the Soviet prison camps, where he would remain for nearly a decade. Features a new foreword by Anne Applebaum. 752 pages long.

Volume 3 with ISBN 0061253731: Volume 3 of the Nobel Prize winner’s towering masterpiece: Solzhenitsyn's moving account of resistance within the Soviet labor camps and his own release after eight years. Features a new foreword by Anne Applebaum. 608 pages long.

About the Author: After serving as a decorated captain in the Soviet Army during World War II, Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn (1918-2008) was sentenced to prison for eight years for criticizing Stalin and the Soviet government in private letters. Solzhenitsyn vaulted from unknown schoolteacher to internationally famous writer in 1962 with the publication of his novella One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich; he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1968. The writer's increasingly vocal opposition to the regime resulted in another arrest, a charge of treason, and expulsion from the USSR in 1974, the year The Gulag Archipelago, his epic history of the Soviet prison system, first appeared in the West.